Hong Kong Diaries: PART V

View of Hong Kong from Victoria Peak.

On Thursday, after spending part of the day in Aberdeen in awe of the amazing food, I took the tram up to Victoria Peak, which overlooks most of Hong Kong. The wait for the tram was excruciating, but the view was well worth it. The city is simply massive, and the combination of high risers and mountains is awesome. The peak experience is much more thrilling than being in a high building and looking down on the city. There is something about mountaintops that makes you feel transcendent, somehow closer to God. You are no longer a part of the city, but above it looking down. Perhaps that is why mountaintops are often symbolic of temples and in a few instances in the early Church even served the same functions as a temple. I decided to walk down the mountain, and came down through what is known as the mid-levels—a combination of stairwells and escalators that is the longest such combination in the world. Quite impressive.

The next day was foggy, and so I went to a nunnery and a garden during the day. Both belonged to a famous Buddhist temple there. The park was so immaculately clean that it made me dread coming back to the mainland; it is also full of interesting architecture and plants with every square inch being beautifully landscaped. I think that this is one of the more underrated experiences of Hong Kong. Saturday was one of the funnest days I have had. I went hiking with a friend. There were beautiful mountains, islands, beaches, and even cows.

These probably aren’t the first things that come to mind when people think of Hong Kong, but they are nonetheless there and actually quite remarkable. We made it back for a sushi dinner right before I went to the Hong Kong Cultural Center with Ya Ya and Trevor to see a famous Macedonian pianist and the HK Philharmonic Orchestra perform music from Rachmaninoff. The concert was so beautiful—the power of live music is so easily underestimated.

The Hong Kong Cultural Center is shown at night.

The morning before I left I had dim-sum with Ya Ya and her grandfather. It has been a couple of years since I have last had dim-sum, and I have missed it. It was a good ending to a wonderfully fun trip, and after six hours of ferries, taxies, trains, planes, escalators, and feet, I finally made it home.

3 thoughts on “Hong Kong Diaries: PART V

  1. I have to tell you, I’m incredibly jealous. Not to say I regret getting married…I just wish I’d run across that scholarship a couple years ago.

    1. Well, I am glad you don’t regret getting married. To be honest, being here has helped me realize what a good school BYU is. Being here is certainly fun…but mainland schools can’t hold a candle to America. So don’t be too jealous; although, if you ever get a chance to go on vacation to Hong Kong, do it!
      Quick unrelated question: I have started reading Sorkin’s Too Big Too Fail. Do you know much about it, and how it is received by some of the BYU professors? Any other books you recommend for getting a handle on what happened during the recession? Thx
      parker

Leave a Reply

