Hong Kong Diaries: PART II

“香港真係好幸福.”

Hong Kong is truly blessed. I seem to have heard that a lot lately, and it has been living up to its fame.

On Monday I explored a lot of the city, went to some Touristy areas, and ended up at the Hong Kong Museum of History. The city has recently poured $156 million into it and it is quite impressive. I didn’t know much about the history of Hong Kong, and so I am glad I went to kind of get an overview. They also had some very fascinating cultural exhibits.

On Tuesday I went to the temple here. Previously I had heard that it was actually a lot bigger than it looked in the pictures, so needless to say, I was a bit shocked when it turned out to be quite small. It is on a very small plot of land, every inch of which is covered in some kind of vegetation. There is a small waterfall near the entrance. It is a beautiful place, on the north end of Kowloon, with the mountains forming a natural backdrop. I talked to some younger people there and eventually made friends with three of them. They all three had recently returned from missions; two to Hong Kong and one to Oakland. They took me over to the mission home to show me around. While there, I ran into my second cousin on my mom’s side who is a missionary here. He had all the signs of an enthusiastic missionary with dreams of a very Chinese future. As such, he had plenty of questions about my doings in the mainland.

Afterwards my three friends and I went out to eat. I had a hard time making up my mind about what to order; not only deciding between Korean food, Singaporean food, or traditional Chinese food, but then deciding which of the many combinations of spices and rice/noodles/soup/beef/pork/chicken/lamb I would choose. At night I went to see the night skyline. I tried taking pictures of the skyline but gave up, because even the landscape function on my picture, which allows three simultaneous shots next to each other, could only capture about sixty percent of it. I really think that it puts every other skyline I have seen to shame, even New York City’s. It is simply massive.

On Tuesday and Wednesday I continued to do what I really love doing—exploring the city by foot. I went to Central—an older part of Hong Kong that has remained largely unchanged. The signs still look like they are from the sixties, and an odd, medicinal smell prevails. Which isn’t surprising, considering there is a Chinese medicine shop every twenty five yards.

As night drew near, I sat on the harbor and read my book. My idea of a vacation.

4 thoughts on “Hong Kong Diaries: PART II

Leave a Reply

